Graduation, no small mountain.

My description of college goes like this:

You start at the base of a large mountain, 4 years of classes and experiences to go. It seems so far away, but you’re excited to start a new chapter. You start climbing and it is tougher than you expected, but manageable. Eventually you reach a point where you can start to see the end, you’re in your program, you’re on the right track, and there’s a plan for graduation. It gets harder and harder to reach that peak, sometimes you can hardly breathe. Doubt creeps in that you’ll ever make it. And then all of the sudden you are at the top. YOU’RE DONE. Graduation is here and you’re too exhausted to do anything but collapse and cry.

I am proud to say that I made it.

dsc_0183_edited-1

The best part of my college experience is knowing it’s something that I did for myself. No one forced me to go to college, no one forced me to go to BYU. It’s something that I decided and I worked for because it was important to ME.

dsc_0228_edited-1

Of course, I had loads of help from friends and family. I could not have done it on my own.

 

But that diploma is mine, and I earned it. All the late night study sessions, frustrating group projects, nerve-racking presentations, and constant feeling that I’m not working hard enough ended.  Looking back, I’m grateful for the things I learned.

I know my strengths and weaknesses. I know how I learn and how I interact with people. I know what’s important to me and what I stand for. And I think going to college is a great way to learn these things.

dsc_0398_edited-1

 

 

One thought on “Graduation, no small mountain.

Leave a Reply

